South Africans to pay for Rwandan visa


According to eTNW, South African passport holders entering Rwanda will, from 1 November, be required to pay for a visitor pass not exceeding 30 days. 

“Nationals of South Africa, USA, UK, Germany, and Sweden who had been waived entry and tourist visa fees shall get the mentioned visas on payment of the prescribed visa fee,” the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration of the Republic of Rwanda said in a statement.  

These nationals can still acquire a visa-on-arrival, but will now have to pay a $30 fee. This can be paid at the immigration desk on entry at Kigali International Airport or at land borders. Alternatively, travellers can apply for a visa at the High Commission in Pretoria prior to travel.

Also available is the common East African tourist visa at a cost of $100, which covers Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya and is valid for up to 90 days for foreign tourists.

Previous articleNews
Next articleTravelport and CemAir enter agreement